WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default How to prepare for cold nights?

Hey y'all, I'm relatively new to backpacking, but I've been on a few trips thus far (a little over 50 miles). Me and my girlfriend usually hike late season around July-August, but this year we wanted to take two trips, one in the early season and one in the late. Last trip, we ended up sleeping under a blanket in our ponchos because we were ill prepared for the cold. Since we are hoping to hike in May, I assume it will be much colder. We don't really know many others who backpack, so I was wondering what kind of gear we should need for colder weather? We are both currently in college and money is a bit of a hurdle, so cheaper/MacGyver-ish solutions are much appreciated! x'D

We currently have:
    Two self-inflating bed rolls
    A blanket
    Two ponchos
    Shorts, t-shirts, and socks

And I was thinking of filling our water bottles with hot water for extra heat during the night or getting some form of sleeping bag, but those can get a bit pricey.

For a cheap and workable solution, go to Ikea and buy a cheap synthetic quilt. It will beat the blanket for weight and warmth, and cost about $20. But, that still isn't going to be warm enough in near freezing weather without lots of warm cloths on underneath it. It looks like you are woefully under prepared for cold weather in the clothing department as well. Walmart fleeces are cheap for their warmth. A complete gear list would be helpful to people helping you.

I'm sure the reason you want to backpack is to have fun.

You are not going to have fun if you are cold and wet.

You need to have a tent, or be able to rig up a tarp. You need to have sleeping bags or warm quilts.