WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: SteriPen

Default SteriPen

I have the "lightsaber" and I have never had any problems getting sick from what I have treated with it. I have a Masters degree in Environmental Microbiology and I completely understand the power of UV light. Does anyone else use these? Should I 100% trust it for a multi week section hike? If you are using one, what do you carry as a back up?

I have one, it has worked fine, I used it for a month straight once and no problems.. I carry a 5ml dropper bottle of bleach in case the steripen dies.
    If you don't stand for something, you will fall for anything.

I frequently use a Steripen. I like it a lot for one person. It's light, quick, easy, and simple. It's a bit slow for two people, but manageable. If you are treating all your drinking water for more than about 4 days for one person, you'll probably need more batteries, or battery charger of some sort. I always carry a few chlorine dioxide tablets as backup for any filter or steripen system I use. I like the steripen most in wet environments where it allows me to not even carry water, I just stop, drink, and move on. When filling water bottles, the Steripen or Sawyer filters are similar in hassle. For front-country water the Steripen also rocks because I also deactivates viruses, which filters do not. I would never hesitate to depend on the efficacy of the Steripen as long as the water is clear.
    I'm not lost. I'm exploring.

It stopped working on a new $17 set of hard-to-find batteries after only four days. A couple I know have two steripens that don't work; I have no idea why they bought the second one. Aquamira or bleach works much better, is much lighter and cheaper

Registered User Tennessee Viking's Avatar
    Journal Entries
    Images