WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Summer Section Hike - Clothing/Gear?

Hello all! I am a newbie to the AT, planning a section hike in Virginia this upcoming June. I had a question related to clothing since I will only be hiking during the summer months and haven't hiked on the AT before. What kind of clothing should I plan on bringing to suit the weather in June in Virginia? I'm thinking particularly about nights, since I tend to feel cold often and do not know if shorts will suffice for an evening in Virginia.

Basically, I want to lose as much weight as possible by not packing extra clothing on my back if I don't need it, but I also do not want to worry about being uncomfortable/cold in the evenings. What clothing would you suggest I wear/bring?

Also, is there any other "typical" gear that is frequently found on lists that you would suggest ditching for a week-long summer hike?

Thank you in advance!

Journal Entries
    Images

Cool We're birds of a feather!

Like you, I hike only in warm months.
    And June in Virginia can DEFINITELY get warm.

> I tend to feel cold often and do not know if shorts will suffice for an evening in Virginia

In general, protecting your legs from cold is not a big issue, simple because they are in almost constant motion.
    More important is to keep your torso and FEET warm *AND DRY*.

First rule can NEVER be forgotten: AVOID COTTON.
    Once cotton clothes gets wet, you may as well throw them away, as they will never do you any good again.
    Wet cotton socks will give you blisters, a wet cotton shirt can (literally) kill you.

Second rule is wool for both feet and torso. Thick wool socks are a must, as is a wool undershirt -- preferably merino.
    I used to recommend synthetics for undershirts until I found that they stink to high heaven after one day of hiking.