Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Any 2016 Florida Trail hikers on here?

Hi, I'm planning to do a thru hike this winter NOBO from the Ranger station on Alligator Alley. Are there other Florida Trail forums that are more active? I'm a beginner and I looking for some guys with some hiking experience to learn from.

i'm getting the 2016 Trail book which comes out the middle of October. How early could I go? I want to finish as early as possible to create some recuperation time for my AT thru hike in early March.

The trail takes about 3 months if you're not in a hurry. I've only sectioned about 250 miles from the terminus but have done a lot of other hiking in Florida. Trail angels are hard to come by, and there's a lot more road walking that you'd think. The guide helps tremendously with info, but the trail seems to change constantly with reroutes. It's also a trail that many locals don't even know exist. One thing I'd recommend is an umbrella to keep the sun off you. Did a section last year in December and it was pushing 90 a few days and walked miles without a shade tree in sight. You also need permits to camp in certain areas. Stealth camping abounds though it's not legal in many places. Almost stepped on a gator in a slough that really surprised me would support a gator that big (bout 5 footer) and sloshed through swamps up to my waist that I KNOW had to have gators, but that's all part of the journey. Ants will be you're biggest pain, with pigs rooting up the trail a close 2nd. Hiking boots aren't necessary. Trail runners would be better IMO. Get gaiters to keep the sand out too. I honestly don't think the FT gets you in physical shape for the AT. Never climbed a hill in FL over a 100 feet. However, it'll give you a chance to dial in your gear before you start the AT

Quote Originally Posted by pafarmboy View Post