WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Springer Mountain to NC Border water supplies

Hi everyone,

I am plan on backpacking the Georgia section of the A.T. soon. Can anyone tell me how the water supplies are looking? Are streams still flowing? Are there some long distances between water options? Any suggestions, as this is my first time with this part of the trail, of places or things to make sure I stop long enough to really enjoy?

Thanks again.

Images

When are going ?? I'm doing the section from Dicks Creek to Franklin tomorrow and can provide water info from Dicks to the NC border for you when I get back in a few days.

I would say enjoy the views from the top of Blood Mountain as well as the amenities offered at Mountain Crossings at Neel Gap.
    Remote for detachment, narrow for chosen company, winding for leisure, lonely for contemplation, the Trail beckons not merely north and south, but upward to the body, mind, and soul of man.

Images

Take the side trail to Long Creek Falls, even in the summer it's a nice spot (though the falls aren't as impressive as in the spring). Enjoy the summit of Sassafras Mountain, you will have earned it. Great views from the top of Blood, as mentioned above, and Neels Gap/Mountain Crossings is a nice place to stop for a bite to eat, resupply, even a night off the trail if you like. If you hike the Approach Trail, the summit of Springer is cool, there is a nice view from the first white blaze, and don't forget to sign the register in the rock. The summit tenting area is nice, too.

North of Neels, Cowrock Mountain has some nice views (and coyotes). The Tray Mountain summit is great, and it's a nice walk from there to Dick's Creek Gap.

Dunno about the water. Lots of rain here in Central NC, and the radar shows big systems moving through the mountains all the time.
    Ken B
    'Big Cranky'