WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default School me on trekking poles

I'm new to the backpacking scene but quickly falling in love with the sport.

After borrowing some sweet Black Diamond carbon poles for a hike last summer I'm sold on the benefits of using trekking poles for any distance hike. Since then I have landed some cheapo Coleman from WalMart poles for free. Used them this weekend for an overnight backpack, hiking 20 miles each day for 2 days. Other than the grips being hard plastic and their being heavier than the ones I borrowed last year I can't say they particularly sucked goat eggs....but my question:

What is the benefit of purchasing a higher end pole over a lower end one?

In particular, what are the pros of spending more for certain features?

Are more expensive poles going to be more durable in addition to more lightweight?

What features should I look for if most of my hikes are going to be over a widely varied terrain, going from rooty to smooth to muddy to rocky?

Thanks!

Journal Entries

The only poles I've owned are a pair of cheap, then a pair of Leki poles (paid $110 on sale). The biggest difference between the two products was in the comfort of the grip. The hard plastic had dull edges that hurt my hand after a while. Other differences were in the way they lock and the comfort of the strap.
    If you do very much backpacking, you may eventually upgrade.

Quote Originally Posted by hayeskw View Post
    I'm new to the backpacking scene but quickly falling in love with the sport.