Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Default Need life advice

I have an ultimate first world problem that I need to have an answer for shortly.

My plan for the past few months has been to quit my job at the end of April and do a NOBO hike. I have never done anything like this before. I have done a lot of car camping in national parks and have hiked by myself often, but never a backpacking trip of more than a few days. I have enough money to support myself, but I do have student loans that I would be deferring.

In the past week, my workplace offered me a job where I would only work 11 months out of the year. This would allow me to not only stay employed but to also do smaller trips like the Colorado Trail or many bicycle touring options. However, when I think about taking the job I am filled with a little bit of dread that I would likely never know what a PCT thru-hike felt like.

I'm 27 years old. I'm single. I will not have any financial commitments (other than student loans) after May. I feel like I haven't really done much so far in my life and don't want to go to the next life stage (marriage/family) with that sort of feeling.

My questions for people who have done this type of thing....

Do you think it is worth the sacrifice?

Would a smaller yearly backpacking trip like the CT satisfy my somewhat intense wanderlust?

The logical answer is to take the job and just compromise on my hiking dreams. My heart does not agree though. I know that the answer is probably a deeply personal decision, but I am wondering if a major thru-hike would be any more "life-changing" than a month long vacation. I don't think it would be hard to find a job after doing the PCT, but I don't want to be a fool here.

Anyway... thanks for reading.

It is good to find a job with a month off, right out of school.

I would think you could experience the PCT with "section hiking" a month here and there.

It would help to avoid the crowds, now that a film is in nation-wide distribution.