WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Lightweight Cooking Project

I have been working on an ultra light cooking solution for a couple of years now and I am curious what your thoughts are? I have two versions one made from stainless steel (1.8 oz.) and a titanium version (1 oz.). Both versions are compatible with Sterno, Trangia Spirit Stoves and various pop can stoves. It is 3.5" wide by 3.5" tall. Right now I am working on bringing the Critter CR2 to the masses through Kickstarter, so if you would like to become a backer you can check it out here: http://kck.st/1ufT0vg

I do value your questions and comments.

9a0df648f83330de9202d85655c62080_large (1).jpgCR2FxdSM0004.jpgPocket.jpg

GSMNP 900 Miler
    Journal Entries
    Images

The look is nice and sharp, it's very convenient (quick and easy to use) and stores small.

But if you're trying to attract the ultra-light-weight crowd, I would think that you would have to make sure your stand is in the same weight class as some of the DIY examples you can find on the Zen Stove Pages. I don't know, but just looking at your stand, it looks like is is several times more heavy than solutions like the tripod stand shown at Zen.

Another issue I possibly see (based on what you've got shown) is the fixed height. You can readily see by your second picture how different stoves put the flame at different distances from the bottom of your pot. With a DIY contraption, you can modify the height of your stand. So I would think that at a minimum you might need to design multiple stands at various heights.