WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Newbie Planning a Trip

I am a midwesterner and graduating college in a few weeks. I have a teaching job in Virginia that starts in August. Before the job starts I wanted to go on a backpacking trip on the AT. Thing is I have little experience backpacking, a small budget, few supplies, and likely no partner to go with. The rough plan would be to go on two, five day trips where I can refuel and take a few days off in between. Please give any advice for me to help make this happen, supplies to get/avoid, places to go, ways to keep it cheap, and most importantly advice in convincing my family this is not crazy. Ideally, this will be the beginning of a life camping and hiking in the mountains.

Some of many questions:
    Should I just plan on staying at the shelters or invest in a tent or hammock?

Will I need a really good sleeping back if it is going to be hot?

What are commonly overlooked items I will need?

Will I need a bear bag/barrel in Virginia?

How many miles should I expect to cover in a day (I am a runner that has ran a lot of trails but hiking carrying a backpack is a lot different)?

Thanks for everything!!!

Definitely get a tent or hammock. It gives you a lot more freedom in where you camp, so you aren't tied to the shelters. (i.e. if shelters are 6 miles apart, you might end up doing a short day or a too long day in order to stay at one. With a tent, you just hike until you are tired, picking up water along the way if necessary.) Plus you won't have to deal with mice, snakes and snoring hikers. And you can't ever be sure that there will be room in a shelter. You might find a group of thruhikers, boy scouts, church camp, etc. filling the space. Having your own shelter means freedom and safety.