WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Going Stove less any advice?

I'm doing a really long section hike and I am thinking of going stoveless this time.

The benefit is no stove weight and no need to prep food.

I had all manner of stove and food (whisper lite, and an alcohol stove). I found that I only made one meal a day and that meal was mac and cheese with some foil tuna. It's a nice treat, but I figure why not bring bread and foil tuna instead.

I'm pretty new to the idea. My thoughts are making a power mix of granola with nuts, seeds, dried fruit, seaweed nori, doing the nut butter, honey and bread, and foil meat and bread.

I'll load up in town on fruits and veggies and take a piece of fruit and hard boiling eggs with me leaving town. Hostel usually have stoves too.

Any thoughts and advise?

Brian

Images

Better have good teeth......

Journal Entries

I am going stove less as well, but am carrying a foldable wood stove that takes up no space in my pack, and using a titanium drinking cup that I can cook in. that way if I really want to cook something , I can.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    YOUTUBE: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCMDkRcGP1yP20SOD-oiSGcQ
    Instagram: DIGGER_PCT_2016
    twitter: @takethisbread
    AT 2x, LT, JMT, CT, Camino, Ireland Coast to Coast, HWT, WT, NET, NST, PCT

That's Take. Can you take me through a basic stoveless day on the trail?

Quote Originally Posted by chefbrian1 View Post
    We have had lots of threads on this on WB. If you do a search you can find them.

I am not as imaginative as many. My strategy is very simple.

Breakfast: Tortilla, peanut butter, honeynut Cheerios, honey. repeat as needed.
    Lunch: no lunch. I just eat snacks all day. (GORP, bars, whatever I feel like)