WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

View RSS Feed

Starchild

pre journey notice

Rate this Entry
Hi from Starchild

In a few more weeks, and only 2 more weekends left to try things out, I plan to be dropped off at the southern end of the Appalachian Trail (AT) in Georgia and start heading north towards Maine. That said I have never done anything like this before, though I know I am made to do this. It's quite a awesome thought when taken in it's entirety, and in many ways this is my first steps venturing out into the world as something I desire to do which I am implementing to do it.

Though broken down one step at a time and from resupply stop to resupply spot, trail town to trail town, it seems a lot more manageable. So that's how I plan to do it just one step at a time.

I do wish to thank all of you for your show of support and wanting to be kept informed about my progress, such support I really need to make this happen, I would not want to do this alone, and there is no reason to. I also greatly appreciate the great variety of support I have received. From transportation, to 'slackpacking' opportunities (having my overnight backpack forwarded so I only need to carry a day pack), to meeting up with me along the trail, to sending care packages, and to prayer support which is needed as this is as much a spiritual journey for me as a physical one.

I also will need and expect to receive support along the way in the community of AT Thru hikers and those who live along the trail and help them (called trail angels). It is this system of support both old friends and new that makes this trip possible for me and also very exciting as well as exploring new places and some feeling of know exactly knowing how some things will work but also knowing that they will work.