WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

• Meds, Their Uses and other Pearls

Meds, Their Uses and other Pearls

By Greentick
    Last edited 14 March 2006

By way of introduction, I am not a doctor. I am a physician assistant working in the ER of a metro Atlanta hospital system. I have done this for about 5 years, minus one overseas with the Army. Prior to and concurrent to that I was a Special Forces Medical Sergeant. SF Medics are arguably the most highly trained medics in the world. We have a wide scope of practice from battle trauma to surgery to general medicine, pharmacology, nursing and more. I was an SF medic for 13 years active duty and national guard. Your tax dollars paid for the training, I'm just giving it back to you. I wrote most of this article as a post in a thread but was recommended to submit it as an article so I've added some things as well as clipped in some of my other posts.

This article is intended to supplement any other medical lists not replace them.

I would recommend getting a book on Wilderness Medicine to read prior to hiking.

The med portion of your medical kit could contain: