WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Default Advice: My Thru Hike Partner might be backing out

Hey Team- since July I have been planning a SOBO starting this July with my friend who has done a lot of hiking and he suggested doing a thru hike and i agreed eventhough i have very little experience.

As of late hes kind of flaking and i have put so much time and energy already into the prep i dont want to just cxl it. Ive been saving money, purchased ALL the gear I need- but i cant do it alone.

Ive already planned to leave my job and my apartment lease ends in June so timing wise it all makes sense.

What have you guys done in the past when your partners back out on you?

Is there a chance of meeting someone on here who wants to do it at the same time?

Happened to me on my first thru in '77.
    Went anyway, had the time of my life.
    Never looked back or regretted my decision.
    Good luck.
    Don't let your fears stand in the way of your dreams

Images

I would advise that you go in July and thru hike without your friend. You will meet other hikers out there that you can hike with.

You don't have a choice. Start your hike when you have already planned. You cannot let someone else decide or make decisions for you. I'm not sure how many SOBO's hikers start in July. I'm guessing you will not be alone for long. As fiddlehead wrote, never look back. You might regret it for a long, long time.

Even if you did start together it would probably just be a matter of time before you split up anyways. Most thru-hike partnerships don't last too long, but some do make it all the way though. In the end it is most likely the way things would have ended up anyway. Go have fun, plenty of new friends to meet on the trail.

Registered User Pacific Tortuga's Avatar
    Images