WhiteBlaze Pages 2024
A Complete Appalachian Trail Guidebook.
AVAILABLE NOW. $4 for interactive PDF(smartphone version)
Read more here WhiteBlaze Pages Store

Default Tarp vs tent for mid sept JMT thru?

I'm contemplating buying a tarp vs using my 2lb LHG Solong6 tent...I love my solong on AT where I always have my son, dog or both with me. On JMT I'll be alone. Would going with say a 3.5 x 9 tarp be worth the wt savings as I hear bugs and rain are scarce that time of year. I have no tarp experience so I'd buy soon and test out beforehand. Will be using a 15 deg marmot helium down bag so can't afford to get wet. Thoughts????

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I plan on tarping for the first time on my JMT hike. Gonna do some shakedowns this summer before I head out. I haven't made my tarp yet but my tarp, guylines, linelocs, stakes, and ground sheet are coming in at 10.7oz on paper. That's a 7x9 cuben tarp, 1.25mm Z-Line for guy outs, Micro Line Locs, Cuben trekking pole cups, stuff sack, 6 regular titanium shepherd stakes, and two titanium V stakes for loose soil/dirt.

And thats with all my guy outs being 10 feet long. I can prob shave a little bit off of that.

I like the idea of the weight. But I don't have bug protection or a bathtub floor.

I'm going with the advice for others that I should be OKAY that time of year. If I have to deal with bugs, I'm gonna just deal with em. If I have to hunker down, I'll pitch that tarp low.

I deffinetely need to practice with the tarp a lot before though. Seems pitching them efficiently can take some skill.

The biggest thing I'm concerned about its drafts while using my quilt.

Images

Even if there are bugs they generally go away at sunset and will wake you up in the morning. I have spent 90% + of my nights in the Sierra cowboy camping even when I had a tent. That could be another option.

Would going with say a 3.5 x 9 tarp..